Chertsey Town

Chertsey Town FC Logo

Chertsey Football Club was established in 1890, and in 1963 it became a member of the Metropolitan League. After three seasons, they switched to the Spartan League, where they finished second in 1974–75. A year later, they joined the Athenian League and remained there until the league’s dissolution in 1984. After joining the Isthmian League, they were immediately relegated to the Combined Counties League. The club returned at the first opportunity as runners-up.  In 1986, the team started a 20-season tenure in the Isthmian League, winning three promotions and suffering three relegations across the divisions.

The Curfews returned to the Combined Counties League in 2006 after the non-league pyramid was reorganised, and they regularly finished in the top half of the standings. Following a disagreement on the appropriateness of the league champion’s stadium for the higher division, Chertsey Town, who came in second place that year, was promoted to the Southern League Division One Central. The club, however, struggled for three seasons before being demoted back to the Combined Counties League. The Curfews won the Combined Counties League Premier Division in 2018–19 with just three defeats, and they also won the FA Vase at Wembley Stadium. The club returned to the Isthmian League in 2019 but saw the first two seasons curtailed.

Pitching In Isthmian League South Central Division One
2022/23, 2023/24